
Golf Croquet - Rules, Tips and Tactics No 2 

 

I am delighted by the reception of my first attempt at explaining a bit about golf 

croquet and exploring some of the rules. 

If you feel that this is not for you, please let me know and I will remove you 

from my email list. 

 

So today; what the rules say when someone plays the wrong ball. 

 

The Croquet association rule book covers all sorts of eventualities. From our 

point of view, I will confine my comments to when we suddenly discover that 

the wrong ball is being or has been played. 

 

The rule is that all players are required to stop any player from playing out of 

sequence and to stop play if a wrong ball has been played. 

 

No blame attaches to the player of a wrong ball, because all players are equally 

responsible. Rectification is applied, not punishment. The idea is to get the 

game going again with minimum interruption or unfairness. 

 

At the start of the game: 

If any wrong ball is played in the first four turns, the balls are replaced in the 

positions they occupied after the last valid stroke and play carries on from there. 

 

If all four opening strokes have been played in the correct colour sequence, but 

by the wrong sides, the players retain ownership of the colours they have played 

for the rest of the match. 

 

Definitions for clarity.  

The striker is the owner of the next ball in sequence after the one that has just 

been played, regardless of whether that was a correct ball or whether it was 

played by the correct player. 

 

Partner Ball is the ball belonging to the striker’s partner. 

 

During the rest of the game if the wrong ball has been played: 

 

Solutions:   The non-offender chooses either: 

 

 



1  Replace and Replay 

    No points are scored for any ball 

    All balls moved in the last stroke are replaced and the stroke is replayed by  

    the correct striker 

 

2  Ball swap 

    Any points scored count 

    The balls remain where they stopped, except that the positions of the ball that 

    was played and its partner ball are exchanged. 

    Play continues with the next ball in the colour sequence after the one that 

    should have been played. 

 

I think that is all we need to know at present to provide us with a quick solution 

to a common problem. 

 

Next time, accidentally moving another ball or accidentally touching your own 

with your mallet when you are addressing it. 

 

Regards 

Graham H 

 

Question 

 
Would it be best/easiest to apply Option 1  here? 

 

It would be easiest to apply option 1 and often it may make little difference, but in a 

situation where, for example, the wrong ball played finished on the wrong side of the 

hoop, the exchange means that one ball is left on the wrong side of the hoop and 

play continues with the next ball in the colour sequence after the one that should 

have been played. So you or your partner will be playing and may be able to 

clear or obstruct the opponent ball remaining on the attacking side of the hoop.. 

You therefore deny them a “second chance” to play and you gain an advantage. 

 

Replace and replay is the only remedy if a player plays an opponent ball or the 

striker’s partner plays the striker’s ball. 

 

I hope that makes sense! 


